top of page

Menu: Week of 09/01/19


This Week's CSA box contained:


Herbs: sage, red shiso, thyme, flowering tarragon and lavender.


Greens: curly kale, dandelion greens, a Waldman's green letuce, kohlrabi greens and a bunch of greens that look like a cross between arugula and dandelion greens which I could not identity, especially since whoever filled my box this week forgot to add the usual printed list of enclosed items.


Alliums: a couple of large shallots, a white onion, a head of garlic.


Vegetables: a handful of jalapenos and serranos, a carrot, a huge head of celery, the biggest eggplant I have ever seen, cucumber, a round zucchini, a red pepper, some kohlrabi, a punnet of cherry tomatoes, a few ears of corn and a couple of red potatoes


Fruit: 2 white peaches, a handful of plums and a punnet of blackberries



While I admired how pretty, green and fragrant the box was when I opened it (see above), I admit to having mixed feelings while planning this week's menu. I don't love celery and L. really doesn't like eggplant so I am faced with challenges there. I am drowning in jalapenos and serranos despite having frozen a bunch last week, so keep your eyes peeled for a bonus recipe for hot sauce of some kind - I have been doing some Internet research and should have something to post very soon. Speaking of bonus recipes, I have grapes in the fridge left from Friday's dinner party - a grape and lavender galette might be a nice "welcome to September" baking project.


Other than that (and the fact that the fruit and many of the cherry tomatoes will be eaten as snacks when either L. or I pass the fruit bowl), the contents of this week's box will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal]

Dandelion Green Salad with Bacon and Honey-Mustard Dressing

Corn Soup 🔁 with Red Pepper Coulis

Cheese Plate from Friday

French Bread



Monday [Wildcard]

"Green Eggs and Ham"



Tuesday [Pasta]

Celery Caesar

Pasta alla Norma (sort of) with Chicken Parmesan Meatballs



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item that I have made in the past]



Thursday [Fish]

Out



Friday [Vegetarian]

Tomato Salad

Heart of Palm "Crab" Cakes with Old Bay Mayo

Herbed Couscous Salad



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

Chinese Eggplant Salad

Chicken, Celery and Peanut Stir Fry

Steamed Rice



Comments


bottom of page