top of page

Menu: Week of 10/05/20



Last week was an excellent week for Instagram photos, recipes that had been made previously and therefore feature via link in the weekly menu, but not so great in terms of new recipes. Sometimes that happens, and I apologize for the paucity of new material. Nearly every single one of this week's offerings is a new idea that I am trying out which hopefully will turn out well enough to transcribe for you to make at home.


My sister recently asked L. and I what we would eat if we could only have one thing to eat for the rest of our lives. This was a no-brainer: L. would eat sushi every day and I would eat dim sum at every meal, especially if it were paired with Champagne.


She then what item of food we would not miss were it never to appear on our plates again. I think pretty much everyone who knows me, or has read this blog, is aware of my deep and abiding aversion to olives and my refusal to have them in my fridge, let alone on my plate, but L.'s response gave me pause...


He feels, quite strongly, that root vegetables are over-rated and wouldn't mind if he never ate one again. To find this out at the beginning of October -- the official start of root vegetable season -- the shock, the horror, the despair! I guess I will have to up my game, and try to come up with some really good recipes over the next few months to bring him back into the root veggie fold.

We are still on the cusp of the season, before everything becomes root though so this Week's CSA box contained:

Herbs: a bunch each of garlic chives, incredibly fragrant mint and purple shiso

Greens: a lettuce, 2 bunches of gorgeous rainbow chard, a box of frisée cuttings, and a head of red leaf lettuce

Alliums: a huge leek, a head of garlic and 2 yellow onions

Vegetables: 3 anemic tomatoes, a punnet of Habanero peppers, a gigantic spaghetti squash (sigh), a cauliflower (double sigh), 3 potatoes, a small eggplant, a couple of peppers, a carrot, 2 zucchini, an exceedingly large red beet

Fruit: a punnet of Cape gooseberries, 2 MacIntosh apples, and a gallon of fresh apple cider

Remainders: 3 stalks of lemongrass, 2 small daikon, 2 heirloom tomatoes, 3 potatoes, a rutabaga

With the addition of the above remainders, the contents of this week's box (minus the fruit on which we will snack, and various items used in lunches) will be transformed into:

Sunday “Pantry Roulette”; fridge, freezer, and pantry item dinner]

Grilled Tomato Salad with Purple Shiso

Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Sautéed Rainbow Chard with Garlic

Buttery Mashed Potatoes

Tuesday [Pasta]

Frisée aux Lardons

Gnocchi Parisiennes

Wednesday [L.'s choice]

Dinner at my sister’s

Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Roasted Salmon with Bacon and Red Wine Butter

Friday [Veggie-centric]

The Ultimate Autumn Salad Composée

Cheese Plate and Baguette

Saturday ["Picnic"; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Jollof Poha Bowl with Vegetables and Spiced Ground Beef



Comments


bottom of page