top of page

Menu: Week of 10/27/19



Hi Honey; I’m home!


I had a really lovely trip to Japan and ate many delicious things which I documented on Instagram. I did not get the opportunity to cook once while I was there. And now I am home and back to the business of home cooking from scratch.


This week's CSA box was a mix up and I received the version that the farm sends out that includes eggs and dairy. I received 12 brown eggs, plain organic farm yogurt and a pound of Monterey Jack cheese. Since I had already ordered eggs, I now have 24 eggs with which to play this week. Of what I really wanted, namely vegetables, it contained less than I am used to but some good stuff none the less:



Herbs: coriander


Greens: arugula


Alliums: yellow onions


Vegetables: green acorn squash, white kohlrabi, orange carrots, white cauliflower, button mushrooms, baby breakfast radishes (as illustrated above), a lone last of the season orange heirloom tomato, serrano peppers


Fruit: snapdragon apples


Acorn squash aside (which will be turned into soup for lunch that I am making for a friend on Friday), the contents of this week's box (with the addition of a head of broccoli, which I am craving, and probably some salad related Farmers’ market finds) will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Jetlag Chinese Takeout



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills but I am having a by request dinner party]

Guacamole with Tortilla Chips

Kohlrabi, Arugula, Mushroom and Mixed Green Salad



Tuesday [Pasta]

Sliced Tomato Salad



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Mixed Salad with Sesame Dressing

Moo Shu Steamed Pancakes



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Roasted Broccoli

Steamed Rice



Friday [Vegetarian]

Mixed Salad with Pumpkin Seed Oil Dressing

Cauliflower Steaks with Tagine Spices and Coriander Yogurt

Golden Couscous



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie but since duck was requested on Wednesday so was this]

Duck Ramen with all the Fixings





Kommentare


bottom of page