top of page

Menu: Week of 11/17/19


I bored you all in the weekly menu preview with my Thanksgiving plans (or at least I did those of you who subscribe….hint, hint...) so I will not run through it again. Suffice to say I am thinking of how to make a brunch feel Thanksgiving-like and tick all of the boxes for my guests. So far, I have not come up with much but very much enjoyed L.’s howl of outrage at the idea that home made turkey sausage might be involved.


This week's CSA box went on a little adventure and was delayed twice whiich explans my delay in getting this week's menu posted. Once it finally arrived, it was definitely the start of what is to come until (sigh) April:


Herbs: Boing, boing, boing…nada (I miss them already. It is amazing how much I depend on them. I may start a winter windowbox garden just for a few staples).


Greens: A huge head of green leaf lettuce, and a bunch of frilly Mizuna


Alliums: 4 large yellow onions


Vegetables: A jaunty Carnival squash, 4 orange carrots, a bunch of purple radishes, a shiny head of red cabbage, and 2 honking ginormous white kohlrabi


Fruit: Nothing this week either. Farmers’ market visit it is.


Many of the vegetables will be roasted for a brunch I am throwing today and the rest of the contents of this week's box (with the addition of a few items cluttering up the hydrator from last week and fruit and salad greens) will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]



Monday [Wildcard; often a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Mixed Salad

Layered “Pizza Terrine”



Tuesday [Pasta]

Mizuna Salad



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Out



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Whole Roasted Kohlrabi with Poblano Peppers and Whipped Feta



Friday [Vegetarian]

Mixed Salad

Autumn Vegetable Farinata


(edited on the day as a friend is unxpectedly coming to dinner in 90 minutes and replaced with:)

Chickpea Flour Flatbreads with Eggplant Dip

Mixed Salad

Spiral Ham

Braised Red Cabbage




Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Green Salad

Risotto al Nero with Grilled Shrimp and Roasted Red Cabbage




Comments


bottom of page