top of page

Menu: Week of 11/24/19


Since I am still obsessing over the autumn salade composée that I made last Sunday for a lunch, do yourself a favor, click here and then make one for yourself. It is a very meditative experience to compose such a salad, with truly delicious results. L. was less impressed with it than my guest and I since these days he is all about the protein portion of a meal.


When he was little, he wasn’t a big meat eater and preferred dishes where meat was used as a flavoring, rather than as the star ingredient. I put this down to his having absorbed this from our time living in Asia where this is the norm, rather than the exception.


Cue to Mr. L, 10 years later, during the testosterone fueled older teen years, where hunka hunka burning meat seems to have become much more important to him. Since I can already tell that, once he goes to college, I will probably slip back into my former mostly vegetarian ways, we have been working together to find some sort of a balance menu-wise. This week his meat related nagging worked, plus there is Turkey Day, so he won.


Still, the CSA box comes even on a meaty week! I upped the ante this week with a deluxe box because I was out of eggs and yogurt and it is definitely cheaper (and more delicious – farm fresh eggs, anyone?) to buy them this way.


In terms of veggies, this week’s box contained:

Herbs: A tiny mixed box of rosemary, thyme and sage – just in time for Thanksgiving


Greens: a huge bunch of kale, and 2 gorgeous bunches of spinach


Alliums: a head of garlic


Vegetables: 3 orange carrots, 2 huge spaghetti squash - a first for me, a punnet of mushrooms, 2 enormous sweet potatoes, and a perky bunch of breakfast radishes


Fruit: Nope


The contents of this week's box (and whatever is left over from the vegetables and salad items that I ordered for Thanksgiving and did not use in the meal) will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Spinach Salad with Asian Sesame Dressing

Roasted Spaghetti Squash with Kale and Homemade Pepita Pesto



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Green Salad

Oxtail and Red Wine Stew with Mushrooms and Lentil Gravy

Carrot Mash



Tuesday [Pasta]

Green Salad

Buckwheat Noodles with Stir-Fried Vegetables and Kabayaki Eel



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Mixed Salad

Miso Chicken Wings

Bean and Barley Bowl



Thursday [Fish]

Turkey Day brunch leftovers



Friday [Vegetarian]

Out



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Wagyu Patty Melts

Sweet Potato Steak Fries




Comments


bottom of page