top of page

Menu: Week of 12/01/19



Having discovered the flash on my phone, I happily took all of my Thanksgiving photos with it on, buying into the notion that “auto flash” meant that the levels of light needed for each picture would automatically be taken into account . I was wrong. This year’s Thanksgiving photos were all duds, though I have posted a few on Instagram in tiny format where I thought I could get away with it. For some reason this year’s Thanksgiving meal was a bit of a letdown anyway, and nothing tasted exactly as it should. On to the next meal, I guess…



This Week's CSA box contained:


Herbs: I saw small frilly leaves when I opened the box and got very excited, but these belonged to a gorgeous bunch of radishes which will be used in Tuesday’s pasta broth below


Greens: None; bit of a shocker


Alliums: 6 yellow onions


Vegetables: a punnet of Brussels sprouts, a bunch of Easter egg radishes, a green acorn squash, 4 last-off-the-vine tomatoes, a handful of greenhouse mini cucumbers, 7 orange carrots, 2 small red cabbages, and a baker’s dozen of smooth skinned, fist sized Yukon gold potatoes


Fruit: 2 pears


Acorn squash aside, which was immediately turned into curried squash soup to go with the last of the Thanksgiving turkey in sandwiches for a lunch for my sister, the contents of this week's box (with the addition of odds and ends from a slight Thanksgiving veggie surplus and, even more so than usual, salad greens) will be transformed into:



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Tomato Salad with Chopped Radish Dressing

Roasted Carrot Soup

Grilled Cheese Sandwiches



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Out



Tuesday [Pasta]



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Away



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Grilled Swordfish with Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Warm Rosemary Zabaglione

Mashed Potatoes



Friday [Vegetarian but edited 12/05 by request for an unexpected dinner guest]

Asian Marinated Cucumbers



Saturday [Usually a Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie but when you have lots of cabbage that’s what you make…]

Mixed Salad




Comments


bottom of page