top of page

Menu: Week of 12/15/19


No CSA box this week. Wait; what?!


Yes, Reader, I canceled it. The holidays are upon us and L. and I are out a few nights this week. Also, we will be away the following week and I am in full-on order-less-and-go-away-with-a-preemptively-empty-fridge-and-no-waste mode. And (let’s be honest), I am a bit tired of L.’s dinnertime anti-root vegetable litanies (nothing that I won’t be saying in my head mid-January) so am indulging him with avocado and very end of season broccoli rabe, two of his favorites, this week.


Sigh. Update: The weather is grey and dreary, and I am still slogging through my variety of cabbages. One more main dish, with the remains thrown into a few dishes here and there, and I think I will be done.


Last but not least, I did not post many recipes last week, nor photos on Instagram. While we ate well, nothing really triggered my “must share” instinct. And I am behind on posting my carrot soup recipe. Mea culpa; I will get to that today.


Because of my lack of both CSA box and sharing this week, enjoy (again), for this last menu of the autumn season, the photo of the quite appropriate sticker which I photographed in D.C. on a pedestrian crossing light.




Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Green Salad with Carrot-Ginger Dressing 🔁

Yakisoba 🔁



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Avocado Salad



Tuesday [Pasta]

Out



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Pan Roasted Duck Breast with Cape Cod Blueberry Gastrique

Garlicky Wilted Broccoli Rabe

Double Baked Sweet Potatoes



Thursday [Fish]

Green Salad

Crispy Skinned Mackerel with Meyer Lemon

Warm Potato Salad with Horseradish Dressing



Friday [Vegetarian]

Out



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Green Salad

Egg Fried Rice





Comments


bottom of page