top of page

Menu: Week of 12/29/19


The year's first winter weekly menu.


This week I cancelled my CSA box again. It seemed like a waste of vegetables to get it as we only have ½ a week’s worth of menu this week, which include 2 dinners for family and friends and 2 variations on stock – beef and fish. I made beef stock a few weeks ago for a stuffed cabbage dish (as illustrated above) and it really elevated the dish in way that store-bought wouldn't have; I think that homemade stock will definitely add to the two dishes below.


I am taking advantage of going off-piste CSA box-wise this week by ordering snow pea tips and hot house tomatoes; usually a winter no-no. As a proselytizer for cooking with seasonal produce, I do feel some slight twinges of shame…


Edited after posting to reflect a nasty stomach bug.



Sunday [“Raid” Meal; fridge, freezer and pantry item dinner]

Away



Monday [Wildcard; a more complex or fiddly dish than usual to test my culinary skills]

Away



Tuesday [Pasta]

Away



Wednesday [L.'s choice of an item I have made in the past]

Green Salad

Welsh Rarebit



Thursday [Fish and dinner with my mom]

Japanese Rice Crackers from our trip at the coffee table, with drinks

Mixed Salad

Catalan Fish and Shellfish Stew with Garlic Country Bread Toasts

My mom's Russian tea cakes



Friday [Vegetarian but this week dinner for a friend]

Ill - L. let loose on the wonderful world of NY takeout



Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner; something that is easy to assemble and easy to eat in front of a movie]

Ill - L. let loose on the wonderful world of NY takeout



コメント


bottom of page