top of page

Spiced Pork Tenderloin



I guess my roots are showing. Despite my Japanese and French upbringing, as soon as it gets cold I start to crave Mittel European food - sweet and sour cabbage and sauerkraut, schnitzels, Kielbasa and pierogi, stews with dumplings, long braised game based dishes - basically any combination of stodge and sour that you can think of!


This pork roast is a variation on a pork dish that my mother used to make when I was little and always enjoyed. I feel that this tastes best with the sweet and sour notes of German red cabbage as a side dish.


This makes my usual 4 portions, with lots left over for sandwiches the next day.



2 lbs pork tenderloin (I ended up with 2 1 lb pork tenderloins)

1 Tbsp olive oil

2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed

1/4 tsp bay leaf powder

1/4 tsp mustard powder

1/4 tsp smoked paprika

1/4 tsp crushed caraway seeds

1/4 tsp salt


Preheat oven to 375.


Place the olive oil and garlic in an oven safe pan. Set aside.


Combine all the spices in a bowl. Rub all over the meat.


Heat the pan with the oil and garlic on the stovetop over medium heat. As soon as the pan is very hot, add the meat and sear for a minute or two on each side to create a slight crust.


Put the pan in the oven and roast the meat for 30 minutes, or until a meat thermometer shows that the inner temperature of the meat has reached 160 degrees.


Remove from the oven and from the pan and place on a plate or cutting board, out of the pan juices. Cover loosely with foil and let rest for 3-5 minutes before slicing thinly.


Serve with a dab of mustard on the side.




コメント


bottom of page