top of page

Holiday Canapes Ideas



Throughout the year, I keep a list of food ideas or links to recipes that I might want to make at some point; I have a subsection of holiday party canape ideas. I go through the list once a year and cull the ideas that haven’t worked or that I no longer find of interest. This clean-up usually takes place around the holidays as I know that I will be entertaining more than usual and want to keep my reputation as the hostess with the mostest…I have attached this year’s canape idea list below in case you yourself are searching for something new for your holiday party contribution.

The recipes range from the most simple to make (for unexpected guests) to those that are very fiddly and time-consuming, depending on your mood and the type of occasion. This holiday season I will write out those that I actually make and upload them to Pity Party as I do. Of course, should you want a recipe that I have not posted but which features on the list, feel free to contact me and request it. I will be delighted to oblige.

With no further ado, and in no particular order besides that of their appearance on my list, here are the options that I am considering this holiday season.

Glazed Cocoa Mixed Nuts with Candied Walnuts

Pizza Fondue for When Pre-Teens Are Around

Baked Rosemary Beet Chips

Blue Cheese Stuffed Dates

Dukkah Flavored Popcorn

Rosemary-Pumpkin Seed Crackers

Sambal Chicken Skewers

Marinated Mozzarella Balls

White Bean Bruschetta

Smoky Polenta Chips

Gougères

Buffalo Chicken Quinoa Bites

Mushroom “Taquitos” with Cashew Cream

Muhammara with Pita Chips

Feta, Honey and Date Spread with Gingerbread Toasts

Beet Blinis with Pickled Herring and Sour Cream

Devilled Eggs with Kimchee Mayonnaise

Hard Boiled Quail Eggs with Nori Salt

Indonesian Peanut Dip with Crudités

Miso Glazed Chicken Wings

Chickpea Crackers with Za’atar

Edamame with Black Beans and Orange Peel

Roasted Spiced Chickpeas

Polenta Cups with Caponata

Bacon Brittle with Gold Leaf

Millet-Scallion Pancakes

Salt and Pepper Tofu Squares with Tibetan Sepen Hot Sauce for Dipping

Polenta Stuffed Peppadews

Buffalo Meatballs with Blue Cheese Dipping Sauce

Bite-sized Lasagnas

Nasu no Dengaku (Japanese Miso Eggplant) Dip

Shot Glasses of Red Pepper Soup with Basil Oil (like those in the photo above from a previous party)

Tandoori Lamb Meatballs with Date-Mint Chutney

Crispy Salami Chips

bottom of page