top of page

Bonus Recipe: Dried Orange Peel



It's really easy to make your own dried orange peel. And, even though you may think that it is one of those ingerdients that you will use once and then shove in the back of the spice cupboard, you are wrong. You won't get an intense orange flavor from this peel but it does contribute a tangy backnote to whatever you add it to.


All you have to do is place the peel from the orange or tangerine you just ate, with as much pith removed as possible, in a 200 oven until the peel is brittle and light brown. This can take anywhere from 40 minutes to 2 hours, depending on - I suppose - the amount of moisture in the peel.


I use strips of the peel in meat stews, in curries and sometimes in my homemade tomato sauce. Reduced to a powder, I sprinkle it over fish, on broccoli with brown butter and in most Chinese cuisine based dishes that I make. I'm pretty sure that you will find a myriad of uses for this as well.


(Image from the Internet, provenance unknown).


Comments


bottom of page