top of page

Recipe: Chickpea Flour Flatbreads



L. loves my socca waffles/blini and I wanted to make something along those lines that was more substantial than canapés. Chickpea flour is very good for you and, since I am always looking for a filling alternative to rice or pasta for my darling pre-teen, I though these might fit the bill. The flatbread recipe linked below is delicious but I wanted more punch and texture than it provided.

You could leave out the whole chickpeas that I added if you wanted a more traditional flat bread; I liked the added texture and heft that it gave to the dish.

1 cup chickpea flour

1 1/3 cup water

1/2 cup whole chickpeas, cooked (canned is fine)

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp za'atar

1/2 tsp Espelette pepper

2 tbsps olive oil

Mix all the ingredients except for 1 Tbsp of the olive oil together in a bowl.

Heat 1/4 of the remaining olive oil in a large nonstick frying pan. Add 1/4 of the batter and cook for a couple of minutes on each side until golden brown. repeat 4 times. Either serve whole or cut into wedges.

I have served these as a side for soup and also with pumpkin seed oil hummus on the side for spreading, which worked really well. I now have a quesadilla hybrid (with the flat breads taking the place of the tortillas) percolating in my mind - keep checking back and, when it is how it should be, I will post the recipe.

Original recipe here



Comments


bottom of page