top of page

Bonus Recipe: Zoodles with Avocado Sauce



Both L. and my sister think that zoodles are an appaling name and L. has forbidden me from using it such is his disdain, but that is what my local grocery store calls zucchini noodles and the silly name has stuck in my head.

I do not like the concept of vegetable noodles enough to buy my own spiralizer and would never use them as most people seem to, as a substitute for pasta. That being said, I do buy the zucchini noodles and the beet noodles fairly often and use them for salad purposes. L. is onboard with this recipe and I think it would make a good dinner party appetizer with the addition of either sashimi, crab meat or cold shrimp.

1 lb zoodles

1 ripe avocado

juice from 2 lemons (Meyer lemon is best)

salt to taste

1 tsp red wine vinegar

1 tsp olive oil

Mix all of the ingredients except the zoodles together in a bowl, mashing well so that they transform into a thick, smooth sauce (if you are not patient zap them in the blender). Mix in the zoodles so that they are all well coated with the sauce. Let stand at room temperature for 15 minutes as this serves to develop the flavor and wilt the zucchini a tiny bit. Mix again well, divide among 4 salad plates and enjoy.

bottom of page