top of page

Fortnum and Mason Inspired Welsh Rarebit



When we lived in London, L. was 3 and we would, on occasion, go to Fortnum and Mason for a special treat lunch. We always had the same thing. I would have Welsh Rarebit followed by a slice of Victoria sponge (because it was delicious and because it made me feel as though I were in a British novel) and L. would have smoked salmon sandwiches and a Knickerbocker Glory (because he was obsessed with smoked salmon at that age and saying the words Knickerbocker Glory made him happy - and certainly giggly).

I have always had a soft spot for Welsh Rarebit but it had somehow dropped from my comfort food repertoire. Recently I came across the recipe linked below and immediately needed to make it again. For those of you who decide to do so as well, please leave your rarebit under the broiler a minute or so longer than I did, as unfortunately illustrated in the photo above. I got greedy and rushed things, deciding to "chow down" before the cheese had melted to optimum molten perfection. Very tasty none the less...

Makes 4 slices of Welsh Rarebit; serves 2


4 tsps dry white wine (my substutution for Guinness, hence my use of the word "inspired" in the title)

1 tsp mustard powder

1 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 egg yolk

1 cup aged sharp Cheddar, grated

4 slices bread of your choice

Sea salt

Preheat the oven to 400. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Mix the first 5 ingredients together into a rough paste and pile 1/4 of the mixture on each slice of bread. Place on the baking tray and put in the oven for 3-5 minutes, checking to make sure that the cheese is melted and golden brown but does not burn.

Remove from the oven and sprinkle with a little sea salt. Serve with a green salad and a glass of the same wine (or Guinness, if you go that route) you used in the recipe.

Easy peasy and delicious. Back on the recipe roster.

Inspiration recipe, here.





bottom of page