top of page

Bonus Recipe: A Summer's Dream



I know that it's Valentine's Day and it is supposed to be cold but the weatherman promised me warmer weather and I was really ready for it. Since that didn't actually happen, I went for a summer cocktail instead to remind me that outdoor BBQs and oceanside picnics on the Cape are right around the corner. Well, around the corner of a long block anyway.

A jugful of these would taste great shared with friends while eating Thai or Vietnamese takeout; the kaffir lime leaf flavor of the vodka shares the back notes of those cuisines. But a glass of these by oneself is just fine, looking out at the late winter sunset and raising said glass to the ones I love.

1 measure kaffir lime leaf vodka* (your measure for a drink may not be mine so pour as you like)

1 Meyer lemon (regular lemon, or better yet lime, is fine if Meyer lemons are not in season)

10 drops Grapefruit bitters

Tonic water

Fill a tall glass with ice. I like to use crushed ice but ice cubes are fine.

Add a measure of kaffir lime leaf vodka, the grapefruit bitters and the juice of one Meyer lemon. Stir.

Top up the glass with tonic water and float a piece of the squeezed Meyer lemon in the glass for color. You could add a keffir lime leaf or a lemongrass stalk as a stirrer if you wanted to be fancy.

* Flavored vodka is the easiest thing in the world to make and I periodically make small batches with aromatics that I have in pantry and/or fridge and then move on to other flavors and other drinks.

For the kaffir lime leaf vodka, put 4 kaffir lime leaves along with 1 1/2 cups of vodka in a bottle with a stopper or a well washed and dry empty water bottle. Let the flavors mellow in the fridge for a few days. Start tasting after 2 days as keffir lime leaf is a strong taste. As soon as the aromatic flavor is to your liking (I left mine for 5 days because we went away and it was a tad too strong and had to be diluted with plain vodka), remove the leaves from the vodka and place the container in the freezer to use as you see fit. If I ever make this again, I think that I will add some crushed lemongrass to the mix.

Other good vodkas that I have made in the past have included cherry leaf, cranberry with orange and cinnamon stick, fig with ginger, and Meyer lemon with rosemary and crushed Madagascar peppercorns. And I recently bought jasmine buds to try a floral version.

bottom of page