top of page

Carrot, Daikon and Radish Slaw with Tahini



Sunday is now the day when I put together our meal with what I have to hand; a small challenge that I have set myself for my own enjoyment.

I had some lovely chorizo in the freezer that I wanted to use and, after investigation of my hydrator, came up with the following salad which I thought would go well with it. Radishes and more green garlic came in my CSA box this week, I had shredded carrots left from my pork romaine wraps and some daikon from who knows when. Ever since I discovered the beauteous combination of carrot and tahini, I have felt the need to combine them again and again, which set the direction of the dressing.

I will be making this salad again, especially with grilled meat or BBQ, as its crunch and assertive flavors stand up to it well. Also, it is pretty next to the slightly charred brown of grilled meat.

1 cup shredded carrots

1 cup julienned daikon radish

1 cup julienned radishes

1/4 cup thinly sliced green garlic or chives

2 Tbsps tahini

1 Tbsp boiling water

Juice from 2 lemons

2 Tbsps yogurt

Salt

In a small bowl, combine the tahini and boiling water until the tahini has dissolved into a creamy paste. Add the lemon juice and the yogurt, stir to combine.

Put your vegetables in a salad bowl, pour over the dressing and toss well to combine. Add a little salt and toss one more time before serving.

bottom of page