top of page

It's a Wrap!




A lot of research went into this recipe so bear with me...and please ignore the corner that I tore off for tasting purposes, illustrated above.


I juice from time to time and, while i enjoy drinking the end result or turning it into soup, I always feel very wasteful when I then throw away the pulp that is left behind. I have used it to make carrot pancakes, thrown some into soup and stews, as well as making it the star ingredient in an O.K. but not very attractive beet-carrot cake, but that has pretty much been the sum total of my pulp recycling efforts.


This week I decided to make wraps for dinner because I wanted something thin and pliable to wrap around crunchy chicken and vegetables. Unfortunately, having looked at the ingredient list on even the self-branded healthiest wraps at the store, I then wondered if i could make my own.


A lot of research later, I found the inspiration recipe below, and decided to attempt to substitute juicer pulp for the pumpkin called for in the original recipe. Also, since I don't have a dehydrator, I had to figure out how I could do this in my oven.


The end result took less time to make than it will take you to read the introduction to the recipe. It was tasty, healthy - no corn syrup, partially hydrogenated oil or chemicals here - AND I reduced my food waste. Next time I plan on using kale and spinach pulp instead of carrot. This recipe was good enough that I would probably make it with blended vegetables as well, not just as a recipe for using up the remains from juicing.


This makes 2 dinner sandwich sized wraps.



1 cup carrot (or other) pulp from the juicer or blend carrots well in your Kitchenaid

1/2 cup flax seeds

1/2 cup hulled sunflower seeds

1 cup water

Salt

Put all the ingredients except the salt in a blender and process until you have combined all the elements together into a cohesive batter. You will end up with a mixture of whole seeds and pureed seeds.


Pour into a parchment paper lined baking tray and, using your hand, spread out to reach the corners of the tray. Make this as thin and as even as you can. Sprinkle lightly with salt.


If you own a dehydrator, now is the time to use it. If not, turn your oven to the lowest heat possible. Mine is 200 so I cooked this mixture for 4 hours with the door cracked open a tiny bit. If you can get your oven down to 150 then cook with the door shut. By the way, if you cook this for 5 hours then you can have crispy crackers for cocktails instead of pliable dinner wraps.


At the half way mark, remove from the oven. Cover with a sheet of parchment paper, flip and remove the original parchment paper which is now on top. Return to the oven to dry out the other side.


When the wrap mixture is dried through, remove from the oven and use as you would any other wrap with the filling of your choice. I stuffed mine with crispy buttermilk chicken, avocado, tomato, red onion, cucumber pickle, mayonnaise and a squeeze of lemon.




bottom of page