top of page

Cold Veggie Soba Noodles



This is a recipe that I come back to all the time during the summer.

It takes minimal time to cook which is a plus when it is hot in the kitchen and, since it is a cold dish, it is often just what you want for dinner in the summer. It looks boring but I vary it by serving it with whatever vegetables I have to hand from my CSA box, mostly seasonal greens which I cook down with a tiny bit of water and a splash of soy or by adding grilled fish on the side. An added bonus is that you can make the noodles and the sauce in the morning and keep the noodles in a bowl of ice water in the fridge,

This is traditionally made with soba noodles but I use udon or ramen if that is what I have to hand.

1 1/2 cups dashi or fish stock

1/4 cup ponzu (available at most supermarkets)

1/4 cup soy sauce

1/4 cup sake

2 tsps grated ginger

1 tsp granulated sugar, melted in 1 Tbsp of water

Noodles for 4 people (people's idea of a portion vary so I leave it up to you)

Cook the noodles according to the directions on the package. As soon as they are done, put them into a large bow full of water and ice cubes. Set aside.

Mix the sauce ingredients together, check for taste and adjust to your liking - less citrus, more soy, etc.

Drain the noodles well and serve with a small bowl of the sauce for dipping. As mentioned above, top with seasonal vegetables of your choice. A bit of wasabi in the sauce is nice as well, as would be a sprinkling of seaweed or sesame seeds on the noodles.

bottom of page