top of page

Cauliflower Hummus



The universe being what it is, my delivery service made a mistake and sent me two cauliflowers instead of one because the cosmos knows that I don't particularly like them. I am looking forward to the day when they over-deliver on a wine order or top notch beef one.

Having just made a cauliflower salad, I wanted to go in a different direction and this hummus turned out really well, so much so that I could see myself eating more cauliflower for its sake I think it is more of an autumn dish than a mid July one but needs must etc.

Makes about 2 cups of hummus, which I served with mini-flatbreads.

1 head of cauliflower, broken into florets

1/4 cup salsa verde, store bought is fine

1 Tbsp tahini

Juice from 1 large lemon

Piece of preserved lemon peel, about the size of your thumb

2 Tbsps olive oil

Salt to taste

Hot sauce if needed

Preheat the oven to 400.

Toss the cauliflower with the salsa verde and one tablespoon of the olive oil and place in one layer on a parchment paper or foil lined baking tray. Bake for 30 minutes, stirring the cauliflower at 15 minutes to evenly distribute access to heat.

Remove from the oven and tip the florets and the liquid remaining from the oil and salsa verde into a large bowl or blender. Add the tahini, preserved lemon, lemon juice and olive oil and pulse with the blender or an immersion blender. I wanted a chunky dip, you may choose a smoother version.

Check for seasoning before serving. I felt that the dish did not need any additional salt because of the preserved lemon and the salsa verde. I did add a smidge more hot sauce but that all depends on how strong your salsa verde is to begin with.

bottom of page