top of page

Corn-Edamame Succotash



I was not a huge fan of succotash growing up because texturally the traditional lima beans did not agree with me. There is a mushiness to them that I did not enjoy. I was trying to think of a summery side to go with scallops in a warm tomato-basil dressing when the idea of succotash with edamame went through my mind.

Were I to make this on its own, I would probably add chopped tomato and basil to the succotash but, because those elements were already making an appearance in my scallop dish, I turned to bacon for additional flavor instead. It can be omitted but it did add an additional crunch and smokiness which worked for me. Chopped roasted red pepper would taste good in this dish as well.

1 cup each edamame, corn kernels and chopped zucchini

5 rashers of bacon, cooked until crisp and then crumbled

1 Tbsp fat from the bacon

Salt and white pepper to taste

Combine all of the ingredients. Allow to sit for an hour or so, tossing from time to time. Serve topped with scallops in a warm tomato-basil dressing or add a cup of chopped tomatoes, a large handful of basil and serve at an outdoor barbecue.

This would be a good recipe for leftover corn on the cob but, to be honest, my corn was so beautiful that I just cut off the kernels and served them raw.

bottom of page