top of page

Spicy Sweet and Sour Peanut Dressing



My mother had a recipe that she used to make all the time when I was in high school, given to her by a former colleague, for a spicy peanut dip. This dressing is an homage to it. I am not usually a fan of sauces that err on the sweet side as this one does but the salad for which I planned it felt like it needed it and I am glad that I followed my instincts.

Please remember that this week I am mostly cooking for one so this dressing is enough for one salad. Make a vat of it and use it for dunking raw veggies or slather it on chicken pieces and then bake them. Also delicious.

1 Tbsp crunchy peanut butter (or almond butter if you prefer)

Juice from 1 lemon

1 tsp brown sugar

Hot sauce to taste (I recommend Frank's here but sriracha works as well)

2 tsps water

Put all the ingredients together in a bowl except for the lemon juice and stir well until combined. Add the lemon juice and adjust seasoning for personal taste.

The only purpose for the water is to bring the sauce to the necessary consistency for it to be a pourable dressing. It seemed silly to add oil to the sauce since the peanut butter is already so oily.

bottom of page