top of page

Contribution to a Ladies' Lunch



My mother asked me to make a Spanakopita Pie for a ladies lunch that she was hosting and I gladly complied. First, because I am a good daughter and second, because I like to tinker with my recipes, never quite able to just let them alone.


I tried to cut the amount of butter in the original recipe but broke down half way through because I really needed the full - horrifying - amount to brush all of the phyllo dough. I considered playing around with the filling by adding a mix of greens - I had both collard and sweet potato to hand - but it felt wrong to do so. The only change I made was to up the dill by an additional tablespoon and substitute thyme for oregano as I was out of it and, though the flavor was a bit different than the first pie I made, it really wasn't significant.


I did spend a bit more time trying to make the top pretty as befits a ladies lunch, which is the only reason that I am including this post today. Feel free to admire my artistry... Well, its not really the only reason. This is a reminder that you really should make this dish. It is easy, delicious, eminently transportable elsewhere if you are a guest bearing food and, last but certainly not least, impressive of presentation when unmolded.






bottom of page