top of page

This Week's Menu



A proper Autumn seems to have bypassed us so far so I have gone straight into cold weather mode: chili, gratin, a heary tourte, crispy potatoes in duck fat...Flush with the success of my Spanakopita pie of a few weeks ago, I am going to attempt a Harvest version, full of pumpkin, leeks and fall flavors NOT related to pumpkin spice. Last but not least, since I have rye flour languishing in the freezer and want to use it, let us see if a pizza riff on pastrami and rye works at all. What this means is that it needs to meet L.'s approval...

Sunday is usually my "raid" meal day where dinner consists of whatever I can conjure up from fridge, freezer, pantry, Internet research and my imagination. This week I am going off message. My fishmonger had gorgeous mussels available this week, farm raised Casco Bay mussels which are sweet and sustainably sourced, and I did not want to wait to eat them. Especially because mussels call for crispy potatoes and I have duck fat in the fridge from last week's duck in which to roast them. Yum. Yum. Yum.

Sunday [“Raid” Meal]

Burrata, Asian Pear and Prosciutto

Moules à la Normande

Duck Fat Roasted Crispy Potatoes

Monday [Wildcard]

Green Salad

Beef Short Rib Chili

Buttermilk Biscuits

Tuesday [Pasta and a dinner party]

Edited after posting

Millet Grit Crackers with Camembert and Fennel

Local Hard Cider

Red Wine Poached Figs with a Salad of Bitter Greens and a Walnut Oil Dressing

Carrot “Gnocchi” with Roasted Brussels Sprouts, Shallots, Citrus Brown Butter

Baked Apples with Bourbon Cream

Wednesday [Often L.'s choice]

Lamb Rib Chops with Mint Sauce

Fennel and Leek Gratin with Thyme-Rye Bread Streusel

Mushy Peas

Thursday [Fish]

Mixed Salad

Garam Masala Shrimp

Arabian Spiced Rice Pilaf

Friday [Vegetarian]

Spinach Salad

Savory Harvest Phyllo Tourte

Saturday ["Picnic" Dinner]

Pastrami on Rye Pizza

bottom of page