top of page

Poultry-Veggie Miso Ramen



A few weeks ago I made a duck ramen that, in the vernacular, blew L. and me away. It was phenomenal. So much so that we decided to have ramen again this evening - a slightly different version. My duck ramen was a miso ramen with a deep, rich, unami full broth.

Today's ramen was a shio ramen, lighter and more delicate which I served with sliced bamboo shoot, Chinese cabbage and a hint of scallion. I added flavor by poaching chicken thighs in my ramen broth and then tossing them in miso cut with soy and ginger and finishing them under the broiler. All that was missing was my nori, which I had planned on cutting into bat shapes for the occasion and which I forgot about during the mad dash of assembly.

A more homey version of the Japanese classic than my original luxurious take on it.

bottom of page