top of page

Bonus Recipe: Cinnamon Apple Muffins



I couldn't sleep last night and was up at 5 am. I decided that, rather than watch something or lie in bed and fret, I would be productive and make the inspiration recipe below for L.. How could I not get teen brownie points for having warm raspberry muffins waiting when he woke, to soften the blow of Monday morning and back to school?


Since my fruit basket is full of apples, which I realized even in my bleary eyed state, I decided to substitute apple and cinnamon for raspberry. I skipped the sugar crust and cut the sugar in the recipe by half and the muffins were still too sweet for my taste. I also added 2 minutes to the cooking time to take into account the added liquid from the apple.


Made 10 large muffins.



2 cups flour

1/3 cup sugar

2 tsps baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, melted

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup apple juice

1 large egg

1/4 teaspoon vanilla


3 organic apples, skin and all, coarsely grated


Preheat oven to 400. Grease a muffin tin or line it with paper liners.


Measure out all dry ingredients into a large bowl.


In a separate bowl, whisk together all wet ingredients. Pour this into the bowl with the dry ingredients and mix together until just combined.


Roughly grate the apples into the bowl that contained the wet ingredients and the gently fold the grated apple into the batter.


Spoon the batter into the muffin tin, filling each cup about 3/4 of the way up.


Bake for 22 minutes. Remove from the oven and let sit for 5 minutes before removing the muffins to a plate or rack to cool.



Inspiration recipe, here.






Comments


bottom of page