top of page

Bonus Recipe: Oat, Nut, Seed and Dried Fruit Balls



I am usually not so interested in sweet treats; my food cravings tend to swing in the direction of savory fried foods and cheese! Probably because I am nothing if not a contrarian, since refined sugar is on my recent doctor assigned you-may-not-eat list of foods, I have suddenly been craving sugary things after I finish my very healthy dinners. These unexpected cravings coincided with a pantry clear out and are full to the brim with fruit and nuts, as well as oats. If you do not like my version of this, there are a myriad of similar recipes online, usually under the heading of "energy balls".


Please check your peanut butter label. Most peanut butters are full of sugar, palm oil and preservatives. I buy Crazy Richards peanut butter which, while more expensive, is made with nothing but peanuts. You can taste the difference.


Makes 16 balls.



1 1/2 cup rolled oats

1 cup peanut butter (creamy or chunky, your choice)

1 cup dried fruit and nuts (I used 1/3 cup each of crushed walnuts, dried cranberries, unsweetened coconut chips but use whatever you have on hand)

1/4 cup flaxseed powder

1/4 cup almond meal

1 Tbsp brown rice syrup or Silan (or maple syrup for that matter)

1/2 tsp vanilla


Mix the dry ingredients together in a large bowl.


Add the peanut butter and stir until all of the dry ingredients have been incorporated into the nut butter and form a stiff paste.


Stir in the Silan (or brown rice syrup) and the vanilla.


Place the bowl in the fridge for 30 minutes to an hour to let the mixture firm up a bit before forming into balls. I started out using a small ice cream scoop but found that shaping the balls by hand was easier and the balls held together better.


Store in the fridge and enjoy a guilt-ish free treat when needed. One will suffice - though containing healthier ingredients than most snacks, these are still quite high calorie. You can also remove one of these from the fridge while getting organized in the morning and spread it on toast, or drop one in a bowl of plain oatmeal for added flavor.






Opmerkingen


bottom of page