top of page

Miso-Blue Cheese Sauce



A version of this sauce has been on my radar for years, and I have attached it below as the inspiration recipe. That being said, I did not refer to it before putting my own sauce together so I am not sure that mine really bears that much taste similarity to the original. I really liked it, L. had mixed feelings, but that could be down to the fact that I served this with sirloin cap -- a new cut of meat for us and one which we will not be adding to our meat rotation. The original recipe used it as an accompaniment for lamb and I second this -- you need a strong meaty flavor to go with this sauce.


I used the tail end of a Cellars at Jasper Hill Bayley Hazen Blue, but any blue cheese that you like will work. Just make sure that you use white miso for this as its tiny bit of sweetness really works, and red miso would make the whole thing much too salty.


Makes just over half a cup of sauce, but you really only need a tablespoon or so as it has quite an impact on the plate even in small quantities; it is rich!



1/2 cup crumbled Blue cheese

1/4 cup white miso

1 1/2 Tbsps vodka

2 Tbsps butter

Pan juices from cooking the meat


Place the cheese, miso and vodka in a small saucepan over low heat. Whisk to combine and heat until the cheese and miso have melted and the sauce is a homogenized sauce.


Whisk in the butter and let melt into the sauce.


Once your meat has cooked and is resting under its aluminum tent, pour off as much fat as you can from its cooking pan, leaving behind the brown bits and the pan juices. Add your sauce to the meat cooking pan and heat through, stirring all the brown bits up from the bottom of the pan.





コメント


bottom of page