top of page

Stir Fried Gai Lan Stalks





It used to be that you could only buy Gai Lan at specialty or Asian supermarkets but recently I have found it at my local supermarket. Since I happen to love it, it has made several appearances recently. I like to serve the leaves and stalks separately - I cook the leaves as I would broccoli rabe and love to use the stalks in stir fry. This may sound strange but, to me, they taste like a combination of oysters and asparagus and I also like their crunch and color. If you see some, I recommend trying Gai Lan.



Stems from 2 bunches of Gai Lan, ends removed, cut into equal sized pieces and halved lengthwise

1 Tbsp soy sauce

1 Tbsp white wine

1 Tbsp fish sauce

1/2 tsp honey


Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. As soon as the oil shimmers, add the Gai Lan stalks and cook for 2-3 minutes, shaking the pan constantly, until the stalks are bright green and coated with oil.


Reduce the heat and add the other ingredients. Cover the pan and cook for 5 minutes, until the stalks are fork tender but not mushy.


Remove the stalks from the liquid, increase heat, and cook down until the sauce has reduced by half and thickened.


Add the Gai Lan stalks back to the pan, toss to coat with the sauce. Serve at once.


Sounds incredibly easy but is also incredibly delicious, especially in the spring after lots and lots of winter root vegetables. Excellent with shrimp, pork or chicken.







Commentaires


bottom of page