top of page

Butter "Poached" Halibut with Carrot Sauce, Herbed Couscous



Here are three recipes for the "price" of one! The components of this meal all went so well together that I felt that I needed to transcribe them all.

Yes, there is more butter than there should be in these recipes but split among 4 people it really is not so bad. Also, organized efficiently, this meal took exactly 10 minutes to prepare and looked as though I had spent a lot more time than I actually did because it turned out so well. Stubbie and L. also informed me that this is a keeper. Please disregard the picture because, once they tasted the sauce, heaps more were added to each plate but also because it is a really ugly photo of a pretty dish.


Butter "Poached" (for lack of another descriptive) Halibut

4 portions halibut or other firm white fish like cod; broiled scallops would be good too, I think.

1 Tbsp unsalted butter

2 tsp rice wine vinegar

Juice from 1/2 lemon

Over low heat, melt the butter in a saucepan along with the rice vinegar.

Add the fish, cover, and "poach" (and by this I really mean steam and cook in the liquid since it is not technically a real poach due to the amount of liquid used. But I promise that, between the butter/vinegar/rice wine vinegar, the juices from the fish and the vapor that the cover will keep in, this will do exactly the same thing as a proper poaching would!!) Cook for 3-5 mns depending on size and density of fish, basting with the liquid from time to time and replacing the cover each time. Salt lightly.


Right before serving, squeeze some of the lemon juice on each piece of fish.


Carrot Sauce

1 c carrot juice (I juiced 4 large carrots to get this amount but store bought is fine. Because I can't stand waste, I kept the pulp from juicing the carrots to use in carrot cake pancakes - will keep you posted on that if it works out).

2 Tbsp unsalted butter

1 Tbsp sour cream

Melt the butter in a small pan.


Add the carrot juice and, on low, reduce until thick, by about half.


Add the sour cream. Whisk until melted.

I did not salt this as I knew the couscous dish would have sufficient salt and I really wanted the sweet carrot flavor to shine.

Herbed Couscous


2 c water

2 c couscous

1 Tbsp chopped fresh mint

1 Tbsp chopped flat leaf parsley

1 tsp lemon zest

liquid from the fish dish

Salt the water as you would to make pasta, boil.

Add the couscous, lemon zest and herbs. Stir well to combine, remove from heat, cover and leave until ready to serve.

Right before serving, add the fish cooking juice, stir to distribute. Taste for flavor, add salt if necessary.

Fluff with a fork and serve topped with the fish and a generous ladle of the carrot sauce.


(Inspired by an article I read many years ago where Chef Jean George Vongerichten talked about reducing carrot juice to use in a sauce).







bottom of page