top of page

Bonus Recipe: Basic Béchamel and Some of Its Many Uses




Recently I read an article somewhere that called cream of mushroom soup the Béchamel of America. This made me laugh and I think the writer had a point - lots of recipes do need something thick and creamy that acts as a glue to hold the components of the dish together. Like many cooks (who don't like the taste and who prefer not to give their money to the agro-industrial conglomerate that is Campbell's), I use Béchamel as a base for lots of dishes and consider it a staple in my repertory. The French have a "gazillion" variations for the sauce but I have only included my favorite uses for it and will, little by little, add the recipes that correspond to the dishes discussed below.


You should probably know that, though it tastes EXACTLY the same as his, L.'s dad - a culinary professional - shudders when he sees me make Béchamel. In his version you heat the milk separately, there are 14 different steps of recipe execution, you use 18 pans, and 12 spoons and whisks and leave the resultant mess for the key staff (at home that used to be me) to deal with.


Makes about 1 cup


2 Tbsps butter

2 Tbsps flour

1 cup milk

1 bay leaf

Salt

Put the butter and the flour in a saucepan over low heat. Stir constantly until the butter is completely melted and the flour is amalgamated into the melted butter WITH NO LUMPS. This paste will from now on be referred to as the roux because we're serious food people here at On The Menu! Keep on stirring for a couple of minutes to ensure that the final sauce doesn't have a floury taste.

Add the milk and the bay leaf and stir vigorously so that the roux is mixed in cohesively. Raise the temperature to medium and cook, stirring often and keeping a close eye on the sauce, until it has thickened to desired consistency; about 3-5 minutes. Salt to taste and remove the bay leaf.


A Few Uses


I start off both my clam chowder and my mushroom soup with Béchamel.


It is the glue that holds together scalloped potatoes or an awesome moussaka.


I add cheese and use it in Lasagna and in my Mac and Cheese.


Brown the roux before adding the milk and you have a nuttier base, add orange juice and orange zest and sauce broccoli with it.


It makes an excellent base for many savory souffles.


I add egg yolks, pour it over cooked cauliflower, sprinkle on some Parmesan and make a gratin.


I use it as the base for delicious Miso Creamed Kale.


I slather it on top of a ham and cheese sandwich, grill it in the oven and call it a Croque-Mister (the fake version of the classic Croque Monsieur).

bottom of page