top of page

Vinaigrette - 5 Ways



Back in the 80s, there was a steakhouse in Tokyo called Mr. and Mrs. Stamp's. I remember nothing of their decor (or their beef) but I do remember that they served the most delicious salad dressing I had ever tasted on the side salad that came with the steaks. I tried to recreate it to no avail for years though I did, on occasion, come close. I still think that the secret ingredient was soy sauce but the proportions elude me yet.


A few years later, my mother and I were in Salzburg and the salad dressing there often seemed to be particularly delicious but we couldn't figure out why. Finally a friend and Saltzburg native son let us in on the secret - the dressings that we liked were made with pumpkin seed oil. I had never had it before then but it has been a staple in my house ever since.


Anecdotal evidence aside, the point is that vinaigrette is important and can make or break a salad. A good dressing can make a salad-loather (like Dennis above) into someone who craves your particular dressing magic. I love cooking shortcuts as much as the next person but I would never, NEVER, buy bottled dressing. Oh, the shame...and the waste of good money especially since it is so simple to make.


I have a base dressing that I make pretty much daily but I change it around all the time, not only because I get bored but because not all greens are created equal. Below is my base vinaigrette recipe and 4 variations from which I am sure that you will develop your own go-tos. Of course, other dressings are available in the index as well.


It is hard to give a dressing recipe for several reasons. First of all, people's palates and preferences differ vastly (doh). L. and I like lots of vinegar, preferably an unseasoned rice wine one. Some family members prefer red wine vinegar added with a light hand. I like Dijon mustard, L. likes grain mustard. My Ex-husband salts his, I don't, etc. Secondly, I have never measured my dressing ingredients, preferring to splash what I need directly into the salad bowl and adding the greens to that. One less item to wash.


Makes Just under a cup of dressing



1/3 cup vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

2 tsps mustard


Whisk the 3 ingredients together. Adjust the seasoning - based on your level of enjoyment for sour either up the amount of vinegar or up the amount of oil. Or email me and tell me that my recipe is perfect. Simple.


The fun comes in all the variations of vinegar and oil and mustard that you can come up with. This week's favorites so far have been walnut oil+Champagne vinegar-mustard of any kind and pumpkin seed oil + red wine vinegar+mustard infused with tarragon.

Variations


Citrus

Substitute 2/3 lemon or lime juice -1/3 orange juice for the vinegar in the recipe above. A little chopped mint is nice as well.


Asian

Make the base recipe above but add 1 Tbsp soy sauce and 1/4 tsp sesame oil. If you happen to have hot Asian mustard then use that in this variation but bring the quantity down to 1 tsp or you will blow the top of your head off.


Creamy-herbed

Make the base recipe above but add 1 Tbsp heavy cream or sour cream and 1 Tbsp of your favorite herb, very finely minced. Tarragon is lovely, as is dill (especially on beets). Basil in this variation tastes good on roasted carrots as well as with butter lettuce salad. For an even more creamy and herbaceous dressing, put all the ingredients in your blender and blitz the dressing until it is smooth.


Piquant

This variation is excellent on romaine salad with thinly sliced shallot or with kale salad (or simply on days when you want a really biting dressing). Place all the ingredients from the base recipe in a blender along with a clove of garlic, 5 anchovies, 1 Tbsp of capers, an 1/8 tsp of white pepper and a splash of hot sauce. I have been known to braise raddichio wedges and serve them at room temperature topped with this dressing and chopped hard-boiled egg. L. loves the dressing on greens but, as President of The Society to Eradicate Raddichio from the Planet, wishes that I would remove that recipe from my repertoire.




Comments


bottom of page