top of page

Avocado Tartare



This is my second attempt at making this, a dish which I had back in my LA days, and I think that this time I have gotten it right. I did a lot of research and based my version on the inspiration recipe below, though I wanted to showcase the avocado rather than the vinaigrette so made changes to the original.


Avocado needs punch and texture to enhance its inherent creaminess and this - along with avocado toast with fried capers - is now one of my favorites. Should you happen to own a ring, now is the time to use it so that the dish looks like a tartare. If not, just mound up the green deliciousness as I did and prepare to guzzle your food.



2 ripe avocadoes

1 Tbsp capers, finely chopped

1 Tbsp cornichons or dill pickles or quick pickles, finely chopped

1 Tbsp basil leaves, finely julienned

Juice of one lemon

2 tsps olive oil

Coarse salt to garnish


Mix the capers, pickle, basil and lemon juice together in a bowl.


Add the avocado, cut into small dice.


Mix together gently as you want to coat the avocado pieces with the caper, pickle, basil and lemon juice dressing while keeping the avocado pieces intact.


Mound or dress properly with a ring, a quarter of the mixture on one each of four plates.


Garnish with a sprinkling of coarse salt and a drizzle of olive oil.



UPDATE (08/31/19) - this dish is delicious, topped with a crispy soft shell crab. Take a look.



Inspiration recipe, here.



Comments


bottom of page