top of page

Bonus Recipe: Cowboy Candy Hot Sauce



I recently read an article about food in the Mid West which mentioned Cowboy Candy. Since I had never heard of it, I did a little research. Turns out that it is essentially candied Jalapeno pepper slices. This sounded good but I couldn't think of any use for these in my life. That being said, I had a dozen Jalapenos to use so I made a batch of Cowboy Candy and then pureed it into a tangy, sweet and sour hot sauce. Plenty of uses for this in my world, anywhere I would use hot sauce basically!


Makes about 2 pints.


12 Jalapeno peppers

1 cup dark brown sugar

1/2 cup rice wine or apple cider vinegar

1/2 tsp turmeric powder

1/2 tsp Old Bay spice mix


Remove the stems from the peppers. boy Since you are making hot sauce rather than Cowboy Candy, do not remove the seeds or pith. Chop the Jalapenos roughly into pieces.


Combine the other ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. Bring to a boil then lower heat and cook down into a glossy syrup. This will only take a few minutes, Swirl the syrup in the pan from time to time to ensure that it doesn't burn.


Tip in the pepper slices and stir to combine with the syrup. Simmer for a couple of minutes and then stir. Simmer a couple more and then remove from the heat and set aside to cool.


Once cool, blend into a smooth sauce and decant into sterilized pint jars. This hot sauce will keep in the fridge for a couple of months.




Inspiration recipe, here.






Comments


bottom of page