top of page

Crunchy Kohlrabi, Arugula, Asian Pear and Mint Salad



I have turned into a bit of a diet bore I know but promise that this will not last. I don't intend to stop my push to get down to my ideal weight and access ALL the clothes in my closet again but I do know that I will soon get tired of talking about it....


In the meantime, since I am looking up calorie counts for the various things that I devise to keep me on track dietwise, I will post nutrition labels at the bottom of each recipe but can't promise that I will do so always as I do find it distracting.


This is a good dinner salad, paired with a protein of some kind. There are lots of tastes and textures to keep it interesting and the fiber content will keep you full. You could probably do without the Asian pear if sugar, even a naturally occuring one is a concern, but my worry was that the salad might taste like grass cuttings without it. For a vegetarian option, a handful of white beans and a sprinkling of crushed almonds would be nice.


I calculated this recipe for one person so have lsited the ingredients below for one portion. Easy enough to multiply as needed.



1 small kohlrabi, julienned

1/4 cup mint, roughly chopped

1 cup arugula, roughly chopped

1/2 raw shallot, peeled and julienned

/2 Asian pear, chopped into rough batons

Juice from 1 lemon (about 2 tsps)

2 tsps olive oil

Salt


All you need to do is cook your protein and, while it rests, combine all the ingredients above in a bowl and toss well to distribute the lemon and oil evenly. Dinner done.






Comments


bottom of page