top of page

Oats Upma



I have been told to eat more oats, and am getting a bit tired of having them for breakfast without being able to add brown sugar and milk though I have come up with a version that I quite enjoy and which I will post soon. The savory inspiration recipe below sounded good but I decided to simplify matters for myself by using root vegetables and lentils that I had already cooked and had been eating for lunch to the mix and to make the dish in the microwave as I have gotten into the habit of cooking my breakfast oats.


I had my misgivings about this until I tried it, and am now looking forward to a Spring version with asparagus, nettles and crab.


This is a recipe for one person, rather than my usual four serving recipes.



1/4 cup rolled oats

1/2 shallot, finely diced

1/8 tsp yellow mustard seeds

1/8 tsp curry powder

1/4 tsp ground turmeric

1/4 tsp freshly grated ginger root

1/2 cup finely diced roasted vegetables (I used a mixture of carrot, parsnip, turnip, Jerusalem artichoke and leek)

2 Tbsps + 1/2 cup water

1/2 tsp olive oil

Salt to taste


Place the diced shallot, ginger and spices in a microwave safe dish along with the olive oil. Microwave on high for 30 seconds.


Add the oats and the vegetables to the dish. Stir to combine with the spice mixture. Microwave on high for 2 minutes.


Remove from the microwave and check for seasoning. You can top this with chopped coriander and add unsweetened coconut chips and/or raisins to the dish as well. You could add chicken to the dish as well or tofu if you were looking for a protein boost.




Inspiration recipe, here.






Comments


bottom of page