top of page

Parsley-Caper Sauce



I came up with this sauce because I had a huge amount of parsley to use, but I will remember it for next winter when it is cold and grey and I need a pick me up. It is vibrantly green and herbaceous and, while I made it to use on L.'s monkfish burger, it would be great on any fish or roasted chicken, adding freshness and tanginess to otherwise cooked-for-health reasons food. I also think this would taste great spooned over steamed potatoes or a baked sweet potato, or even stirred into a grain, pasta or potato salad.


Makes about a cup of sauce.



2 bunches of parsley (I used one each of curly and Italian because that is what I had on hand, either or would be fine)

1/4 cup capers

1/3 black radish, chopped, or 1 tablespoon of prepared horseradish

Juice from 2 lemons

1/3 cup water

1 Tbsp olive oil

Salt to taste


Wash the parsley well. Shake to slightly dry it before roughly chopping it and adding to the blender along with the other ingredients. If your blender is strong, feel free to add the stalks as well. If not, remove them before adding the leaves to the blender.


Add the remaining ingredients to the blender and pulse until a thick sauce forms.


Serve as described above.





Comments


bottom of page