top of page

Carrot Gnocchi




Having made these, it occured to me that they would be a lovely contribution to an Easter meal because they come across as spring like and, of course, there is the whole carrot/bunny association.


The recipe linked below was the inspiration for this but I like my version better. Gnocchi or pasta can be too pillowly in my opinion and boring when you are faced with a whole plate of the stuff. I prefer the texture of my version as well as the piquancy added by the carrot top chimichurri. Also, I like the fact that I didn't waste anything by using the carrot tops and I enjoy the playfulness of carrot served with carrot.



1 bunch organic carrots (reserve the green tops for the sauce)

1/2 cup cooked spinach, finely chopped

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup semi-soft goat cheese, crumbled (can be omitted but adds a tartness that sets of the sweetness of the carrots)

1½ cups all-purpose flour (about 1/4 cup less if you are not using the goat cheese)

Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Peel the carrots. Cook in salted boiling water for 12-15 minutes. Drain and allow to cool. Dice finely.


Add all ingredients to a large bowl, mix to incorporate and form a dough. Let rest in the fridge for at least 30 minutes. I left it for 2 hours and it was fine.

Flour a board and transfer 1/2 the dough. Using your hands, roll it into a log shape. Repeat with the other half. Cut the dough into equal sized pieces. I ended up making little triangle shapes by cutting on the bias, alternating sides as I cut. As you cut them, place the finished gnocchi on a well-floured baking sheet and roll them in the flour a few times or they will stick.


Bring a large pot of salted water to a rolling boil. Add the gnocchi and cook, stirring from time to time, until the gnocchi rise to the surface of the water, between 3 and 5 minutes.


Drain and serve with carrot top chimichurri. You could also heat a pan with a little butter, crisp up the gnocchi a bit and serve topped with some Parmesan.



Original recipe here.

Comments


bottom of page