top of page

Coffee and Five Spice Roasted Carrots



I love carrots, but very often find them too sweet and am always looking for recipes where I can tone that component down. The inspiration recipe for this was intriguing - I like five spice with carrots and I thought the coffee would tone down the sweetness as required while adding interesting back notes to the dish. I changed the quantities though, as I felt the original called for too much coffee and I am glad that I did. I think that the amount of coffee used in the original would have been overwhelming.


I ended up mixing this in with a one pot dinner of Chicken with Artichokes, Lemon and Garlic and it worked superbly well. That being said, I ate a couple of pieces on their own before adding them to the chicken and these carrots would be an excellent side dish to pork or beef as well.



1 bunch carrots, cut into sticks (if organic no need to peel, just scrub well)

1 tsp five spice powder

1 tsp ground coffee

1 Tbsp olive oil

Salt to taste



Preheat oven to 375.


Mix the olive oil, coffee and five spice together in a bowl.


Add the carrots and toss well so that each carrot piece is covered with some of the spice mixture.


Tip out in one layer on a foil lined baking tray. Salt liberally.


Bake for 1 hour, shaking the tin to redistribute the carrots at the half way mark.


Serve as mentioned above, as an appetizer drizzled with balsamic vinegar, or in a salad as per the inspiration recipe below.



Inspiration recipe, here.






Commenti


bottom of page