top of page

Dinner Gazpacho



I used yellow tomatoes for this so it was not as pretty as I expected it to be but it certainly was a filling and healthy soup. I have to say that I didn't miss the usual additions of soaked bread and lots of olive oil, the small amount that I drizzled on at the end seemed to work just fine.


This is the perfect dinner when it is so hot that you have lost your appetite but want something refreshing and cool to keep you going. I made a pitcher of this for the fridge and, as a dieter, had a bit to fill me up whenever I got hungry. I don't like adding garlic and onion to dishes if they are not going to be eaten straight away as I find their flavors end up overpowering the food, so I added chopped scallion and garlic oil to each serving individually.


This recipe filled a 32 oz pitcher 3/4 of the way up but everything depends on the juiciness of your ripe, summer tomatoes.



3 large tomatoes, as juicy and ripe as you can find them

1 large pepper, I used 1/2 a red and 1/2 an orange one since that is what I had to hand

1 cucumber, roughly peeled

1/2 carrot, peeled and roughly chopped

handful basil leaves

1 Jalapeno pepper

1-2 Tbsps sherry vinegar

1 clove garlic, peeled and crushed

2 Tbsps olive oil

1/3 cup chopped shallot

1/8 tsp cumin

Salt and white pepper to taste


Blend the tomatoes well. Little by little add the cucumber, the peppers, the carrot and the basil. I wanted a very thick summer soup, you can add a bit of water to loosen and thin the soup if you prefer. If so, you may want to add a bit of additional vinegar and cumin.


Add 1 tablespoon of the vinegar. Stir, taste, and add more if needed. Add the spices, stir well to combine and refrigerate until chilled.


Place the crushed garlic in a small bowl along with the olive oil. Refrigerate until needed.


When ready to serve, pour into a chilled container. Garnish with some chopped scallion and drizzle with a little garlic oil.






Comments


bottom of page