top of page

Grated Carrot Salad with Dried Cranberry-Caper Vinaigrette



Maybe it stems from my time in France when carottes râpées appeared as an appetizer on many a bistro menu, but I like a good grated carrot salad. When I saw the inspiration recipe below, I immediately wanted the dressing it described for such a salad but I don't really like sweet dressings so went with a mustardy version of the original recipe. I didn't have raisins so substituted dried cranberries and ended up with a really delicious carrot salad that I will be more than happy to make again.


Do not be put off by the combination of sweet dried fruit and briny capers - the flavors will come together beautifully in the vinaigrette and complement the sweetness of the carrots beautifully.



3 cups grated carrots

1/3 cup dried cranberries, finely chopped

1/4 cup capers, finely chopped

1 Tbsp Dijon mustard

1/4 cup rice wine vinegar

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tsp fresh thyme leaves


Mix the cranberries, capers, thyme and rice wine vinegar together in a bowl.


Slowly whisk in the olive oil to create an emulsified dressing.


Toss well with the carrots and set aside for at least an hour before serving though this salad can stand up to even an overnight stay in the fridge.


I didn't add salt as I felt the capers and mustard were enough, but adjust for seasoning if you want a saltier version.



Inspiration recipe, here.






Comments


bottom of page