top of page

⏰ Lamb Flatbreads




I happened to have a ball of this dough in the freezer, but you could also use this one for a less robust crust, or even buy a ball of dough from your local pizza shop or in the freezer section of your grocery store. I find that it is a great idea to always ave a couple of balls of dough on hand in the freezer as they make for a quick snack or easy dinner and often double my dough recipes when I make them in order to put half in the freezer to replenish my stock. Just take the dough out of the freezer and place it in the fridge before going to work in the morning and, when you come home you just need to let it come to room temperature on the counter before patting it out into a pizza or a flatbread base.


I had a meeting, came home at 5, got the dough out of the fridge and went about my business. At 7 I felt peckish for dinner and, at 7:17:23, this was on the table.



1 ball of dough as mentioned above

1 lb ground lamb

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1/8 tsp ground cinnamon

2 tsps pomegranate molasses

1 Tbsp chopped mint leaves

Salt to taste


Preheat oven to 400.


Line a baking tray with parchment paper and roll or pat the dough into a large rectangle. I patted my dough into a roughly 12 by 6 inch shape.


Bake for 12 -15 minutes until the crust is crisp on the bottom but still tender on the top.


While the dough base is baking, prepare the filling. Cook the lamb in a nonstick pan over medium heat. As soon as it is cooked through (just a couple of minutes), pour off as much of the rendered fat as possible.


Add all of the other ingredients, except for the mint which you should now roughly chop, and set aside. You should still have time to make a salad while the dough finishes baking.


As soon as the dough comes out of the oven, top it with the lamb, sprinkle with mint and cut into squares. That's pretty much it though, next time I make this, I will add 1/2 cup of crumbled feta along with the mint.





Comments


bottom of page