top of page

Leek Ribbons Vinaigrette with Jammy Eggs




I used to make this dish all the time but L. took against all thing allium when he was little and I retired it, except for the occasional lunch for one when he wasn't around. I recently have been deliberately adding more garlic and onion to dishes (whereas in the past I used to sneak them in) and he hasn't said anything so - having gotten a huge bunch of leeks in my CSA box this week - decided to reintroduce the dish and see what happened.h Kid ate the leeks witout comment and eschewed the egg; go figure. Sigh...


The basic recipe is mostly unchanged from my original, posted in 2016, with a few tiny improvements.


a) I now cut the ends off my leeks, cut them in half lengthwise and separate them into ribbons so that I can wash all of the dirt and silt out, rather than using the methodology that I learned from my former neighbor (mentioned in the 2016 post, which you can click on above).


b) I now drain the leek rbbons into a colander, roll them quickly on a tea towel to remove as much water as possible and put them in the vinaigrette to marinate while they are still hot. They absorb more flavor that way.


c) Jammy eggs (an egg where the yolk is set and no longer runny but still silky and jam-like) have always been hit or miss for me. I recently read an article that suggested steaming the eggs for 6 1/2 minutes over already boiling water and then shocking them in an ice bath - I am never looking back; perfect eggs every time.







(*if you omit the egg topping)

コメント


bottom of page