top of page

Spaghetti Squash and Daikon Tater Tots



I have to be honest, I did not have high hopes for this idea. I am not a big spaghetti squash fan and was nonplussed when I got some in my CSA box for the second week in a row, along with three small daikon radishes. I am not sure what made me look at the vegetables and think "oh, yes, tater tots" (especially since I have only had those a couple of times in my life) but I did. And here is the result of that idea which were great!


I served these with over enthusiastically decorated poached salmon with red wine butter sauce on a bed of frisée lettuce tossed with a mustardy vinaigrette as seen below, and they were really good, but I shall make them again and serve them with pork which, I think, would really make them shine. That being said, they were good enough that I scarfed a couple in the kitchen when they came out of the oven. Cook's prerogative.


This made 16 tater tots, and 4 is enough for anyone as they are surprisingly rich tasting.



2 cups spaghetti squash flesh, cooked (I microwave the squash in 3 minute increments until it goes soft and starts to collapse and then let it cool)

1/2 cup daikon radish, peeled, grated and all excess liquid removed by wrapping the grated daikon in a tea towel and wringing out as much excess liquid as possible

1/3 cup grated Parmesan

1/2 cup panko

Salt to taste


Preheat the oven to 400.


Mix the spaghetti squash, daikon and Parmesan together in a bowl. Set aside.


Place a piece of parchment paper on a baking tray.


Form the squash mixture into tater tot shapes between two spoons. As each "Tater tot" is formed, lay it on the parchment paper. Repeat until all the mixture is used, making sure that the "tater tots" do not touch each other.


Once all 16 are formed, pour the panko over each tot. Roll them gently in the panko to ensure that they have a thin layer of panko on all sides.


Place the pan in the oven and bake for 12 minutes. At this juncture, turn the panko over in the now browned panko to give them another coating of the breadcrumbs which will absorb any extra liquid. Cook for an additional 5 minutes and serve as an interesting side to whatever protein you are eating, or as part of a vegetarian dinner (substitute vegetarian Parmesan for the real thing).








#vegetablesandsalads #vegetarian (use vegetarian Parmesan)



2 Comments


Make them! Sooo easy (and good)

Like

jeangordon0
Oct 09, 2020

Omg. Omg. Omg. That sounds brilliant and delicious. Omg.

Like
bottom of page