top of page

⏰ “Asian” Slaw




I have to admit that I cheated by buying pre-chopped cabbage, which definitely cut down on prep time. This is a fresh, vibrant salad and very filling. It would be great with pork chops, grilled chicken or even a meaty fish like tuna. And another great thing about it is that it is pretty adaptable and can take any vegetable that you throw at it, just keep the cabbage and ginger base. My only regret was that I thought I had edamame in the freezer and didn't, and I think they would have made the salad even prettier.



2 cups chopped purple cabbage

2 cups, chopped or diced additional vegetables (I used daikon, watermelon radish and tomato)

2 Tbsps chopped fresh mint

2 Tbsps Japanese pickled ginger (you can buy it in the international section of most supermarkets)

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup rice wine vinegar

1/2 tsp sugar


Chop the ginger. Combine it with the mint, olive oil, vinegar and sugar to create a vinaigrette.


Add all the vegetables to a large bowl, toss well to combine.


Dress with the vinaigrette and let sit for 30 minutes, tossing from time to time for the flavors to permeate the slaw.


I served these with Hoisin Glazed Pork Meatballs as part of a 20-minute challenge. Both recipes combined came to just under 12 minutes.




コメント


bottom of page