top of page

Beet Salad with a Lemongrass-Lavender Dressing



I happen to love beets. I love them in salads, I love them roasted with soft cheeses, I love them in Borscht. Too often however, their sweetness is overset by an excess of vegetal earthiness. It occurred to me that, if I made a floral dressing, I might be able to find a balance. And I do think that I did, because this was an absolutely amazing dressing for the beets and the four of us taste testing this devoured the salad.


Pour it over the beets when they are still warm if possible so that they can really absorb the flavor of the dressing.


Makes about 1/2 cup of dressing.



1 bunch of fresh lavender or 2 tsps dried lavender buds

2 tsps lemongrass paste (can be purchased in the produce section of most grocery stores) + the finely chopped (tender insides only) of 2 fresh lemongrass stalks

1/3 cup sherry vinegar

1/2 cup fruity olive oil

2 tsps maple syrup

Salt to taste


If using fresh lavender, separate the leaves from the stems and chop roughly. Set aside the buds.


Mix half of the fresh lavender (or 1 1/2 teaspoons of the dried) together with all of teh other ingredients. Whisk well to emulsify.


Taste and add a tiny bit of salt to enhance flavors.


Pour over beets - roasted, boiled, microwaved, whatever your favorite method -- and top with the remaining lavender.





Comments


bottom of page