top of page

Prematurely Named Perch Kofta (Make This Dish For The Sauce)



I bought perch on sale a while ago and had some left in the freezer whose time, I felt, had come. I knew from the first time cooking it that I was not acually a huge fan of perch because of its strong earthly flavor anod it has been in the freezer a bit longer than I am comfortable with.


I did some research to find a recipe with a bold sauce that would mask that particular underlying taste and would also use up some of the vegetables in the fridge. I found two which, coincidently, were both Ottolenghi recipes. Despite my misgivings concerning fish and tomato I decided to make a version of these but, because I was tired acnd cranky, rather than fiddle around with turning the fish into fish cakes, I poached the fish filets directly in the sauce (which means that this dish which was planned as such is no longer a kofta as there is not a fish or meat ball in sight).


Verdict: I still don't like perch. I think it is disgusting. However, the sauce is absolutely delicious and I recommend it for firm white fish, or with proper fish or meat balls as a kofta, or on its own with the bulgur wheat side dish I made, as a vegetarian dinner.



1Tbsp olive oil

1 large shallot, peeled and diced

3 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 green chiles such as serrano or jalapeno or 1 Tbsp of Sriracha sauce

4 cups of diced vegetables (I used a combo of celery, zucchini and carrot)

3 Tbsps tomato paste

1/4 cup dry white wine

1/4 cup water

2 cups diced tomatoes with juice (canned is best for this)

2 tsps granulated sugar

2 tsps cumin powder

2 tsps coriander powder

Juice from 1 lime or 2 tsps fish sauce

2 tsps coriander powderdl and coriander (optional or only use one)

Salt


Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. As soon as it is shimmering, add the shallot, garlic, green chiles (if using), the tomato paste, and the cumin and the coriander powder. Cook, stirring constantly, for a couple of minutes, until the shallot is translucent and soft.


Add the wine and the sugar and stir to combine. Cook for a minute or and then stir in the vegetables. Cook for a couple of minutes, stirring to coat the vegetables with the shallot mixture. Salt well.


Pour in the diced tomatoes, their juice and the water. Stir to combine, cover, lower the heat and cook for 20 to 30 minutes until the vegetables are cooked through but still have some bite. Stir a couple of times while the sauce is cooking so that it doesn't stick.


At this point add the Sriracha sauce if you haven't used fresh chiles, as well as the lime juice or fish sauce. Stir to combine, taste and add more salt if needed.


At this point you can either poach meatballs or fish in the sauce or, as mentioned above, spoon it up greedily from atop bulgar wheat with greens.



Inspiration recipes, here and here.





(*made so by omitting the fish and fish sauce. It is really good without both of those things).

Comments


bottom of page