top of page

The "Perfect" Salad with Shallot-Grain Mustard Dressing




I have been lucky enough to eat at downtown Manhattan restaurant, Via Carota, twice. Once I had the best risotto that I have ever had and the second time the most delicious green salad ever, which may sound silly to some.


I recently came across the recipe for said salad in the New York Times, and made my version this evening. I used the variety of greens that I had on hand rather than follow the recipe exactly and, rather than use red wine vinegar and honey, used balsamic vinegar instead. I also omitted the thyme, which I did not have, and the garlic,, which L. does not like. What I did do exactly was to follow the layering technique and to make sure that I followed the steps if the vinaigrette.


I don't really ever want to eat salad any other way again.



Comments


bottom of page